Author Topic: Very Basic Information  (Read 3577 times)

Offline aj

Very Basic Information
« on: January 15, 2011, 08:24:59 AM »
  • Publish
  • Hi, I am new to this and am on a bit of a fact finding mission. I live in England and would love to spend some time riding from west to east coast of USA. I hope this will not just be a pipe dream but need some basic information to get started, this seemed like a good place to ask!

1. How long does it take? I can work out the miles but realistically how much time do i need?
    2. How much does it cost? I know this will vary but from someone who's dont it what is a ballpark figure
    3. Hire a bike in the USA or ship one from England? Any enormous pros or cons that I might not have though of!
    4. How suitable will a USA hired bike be? Would I have loads of choice? What bikes are reccommended?
    5. Will there be any problems with me having a UK licnece?

ANY help would be appriciated! Want to make this dream come true

aj

Online nomad

• RaU Pioneer
    • TiredLess Rider
    • Your Location: S. Florida
    Re: Very Basic Information
    « Reply #1 on: January 15, 2011, 06:18:33 PM »
  • Publish
  • Hi AJ!  Welcome to the group.:)
    It is a "real" dream, but it depends on a few factors.  Before you set up a plan, you need to know what you have in your hands.  How much time, money, just you, or two ride-up.
    Renting a bike is easy in the US, the price is varied, so yo have to shop around.  Of course, you know can easily find out the price on line.
    Here is a few common info based on my personal experience, but then it depends on what route, speed, and time that you want to spend.
    • If you ride around 600 miles a day, you can cross the USA from west to east, or east to west within 6 days.
    • It depends on what kind of bike that you will rent, and at the current gas price ($3.20 USD), hotel (if you don't want to camp), then you will probably spend around $2000 USD, plus the bike rental, for one way trip.